The Malta FA, through its FSR Department, will take part in the UNITY EURO CUP.

Published: 20-06-2022 21:11

The Malta FA, through its FSR Department will take part in the new European tournament for refugees, the UNITY EURO Cup, that is being organised by UEFA alongside UNHCR.    

UEFA and UNHCR, the United Nations Refugee Agency, are using the power of football to build a better future for refugees and displaced people in Europe.

The tournament will be held for the first time in 2022, whereas eight national association teams will compet for the inaugural UNITY EURO CUP at the UEFA HQ in Nyon, Switzerland.   

On Wednesday 29 June, mixed refugee teams from across Europe will come together for a friendly competition to demonstrate and celebrate football’s power to strengthen ties between host communities and displaced people, breaking down barriers and creating a spirit of inclusion.

Teams from Austria, Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Malta, the Republic of Ireland and Switzerland will be accompanied by illustrious ambassadors from the footballing world, with local children and families able to watch the action at the Colovray Stadium in Nyon.

Each team will be composed of 70 per cent refugees and 30 per cent non-refugee players, advocating for how football can strengthen ties between host communities and refugees.

Who are the tournament ambassadors?

Austria – Marc Janko (ex-international player)
Belgium – Mbo Mpenza (ex-international player)
France – Laura Georges (ex-international player)
Germany – to be confirmed
Italy – Demetrio Albertini (ex-international player)
Malta – Christian Damiano (ex-international player)
Republic of Ireland – Stephen Kenny (men’s national team coach)
Switzerland – Murat Yakin (men’s national team coach)

The action will kick off from 14:00 CET on the day, with UEFA Referees’ Committee chairman Roberto Rosetti, who took charge of the EURO 2008 final, set to officiate the tournament’s final.

The draw for the tournament, which is a concrete outcome of the UNHCR-UEFA partnership agreement signed last year, took place earlier today. Football legends Nadine Kessler and Zvonimir Boban featured in a special live broadcast to the participating teams.  Malta will be playing in Group 2 alongside Belgium, Germany and Italy.